Rules and Criteria of PM AWAS YOJANA


The Pradhan Mantri Awas Yojana (PMAY) is a government initiative aimed at providing affordable housing for all by the year 2022. Here are the key rules and criteria of PMAY:

  1. Eligibility Criteria:

    • The applicant should be a citizen of India.
    • The applicant or their family should not own a pucca house anywhere in India.
    • The household income should fall within the defined income categories specified by PMAY.
  2. Income Categories:

    • PMAY is divided into two income categories: Economically Weaker Sections (EWS) and Low-Income Groups (LIG).
    • The income criteria for EWS households is up to ₹3 lakh per annum, and for LIG households, it ranges from ₹3 lakh to ₹6 lakh per annum.
  3. Beneficiary Identification:

    • Beneficiaries are identified through a survey conducted by the government or by applying directly through PMAY portals.
    • The list of eligible beneficiaries is published and made available for public scrutiny to ensure transparency and accountability.
  4. Subsidy Scheme:

    • PMAY provides financial assistance in the form of interest subsidy on home loans to eligible beneficiaries.
    • Under the Credit-Linked Subsidy Scheme (CLSS), beneficiaries can avail of interest subsidy ranging from 3% to 6.5% depending on their income category.
  5. Types of Beneficiaries:

    • PMAY aims to cater to the housing needs of various segments of society, including economically weaker sections, low-income groups, and middle-income groups (MIG).
    • MIG beneficiaries are further categorized into MIG-I (annual income up to ₹12 lakh) and MIG-II (annual income between ₹12 lakh and ₹18 lakh).
  6. Types of Housing Units:

    • PMAY offers two types of housing units: affordable houses for the economically weaker sections and affordable houses under partnership with private and public sector entities for other eligible beneficiaries.
  7. Construction Guidelines:

    • The construction of houses under PMAY should adhere to the guidelines specified by the Ministry of Housing and Urban Affairs.
    • The houses should be constructed using sustainable and eco-friendly practices and must meet the specified quality standards.
  8. Online Application Process:

    • Interested applicants can apply for PMAY online through the official PMAY website or through Common Service Centers (CSCs) across India.
    • The online application process requires providing personal details, income details, and other relevant information.
  9. Monitoring and Evaluation:

    • The implementation of PMAY is monitored and evaluated regularly to ensure effective delivery of benefits and compliance with program guidelines.
    • Grievance redressal mechanisms are in place to address any issues or concerns raised by beneficiaries.

By adhering to these rules and criteria, PMAY aims to achieve its objective of providing affordable housing for all and ensuring inclusive and sustainable urban development across India.




Share this story